So Judge Me #4: Why Do I Hate Most Christian Music?

I don’t like being all negative and un-supportive of my team, so to speak, but I am really not into Christian music. At all. I don’t write songs and I can appreciate it must be very difficult, but when I do actually put on Christian radio the whole adventure usually lasts less than five minutes (I wait for the next inglorious song to come on, after the initial disappointing tune, to at least give the station a chance). Does anyone out there agree with me? Or am I just not getting any of the good stuff?

* the lyrics are predictable and trite

* the artist’s voices and the music itself seems safe and uncreative

I love U2, who pretty much always sing about God, Nick Cave has some goodies and Bob Dylan is still wonderfully original. In terms of purely ‘Christian’ bands I can listen to Third Day and Sons of Korah. But I am running dry!

Suggestions anyone???

The bottom line is, if you believe this stuff, our God is creator. Why then do we seem to lack creativity? Ok. So judge me…

2 thoughts on “So Judge Me #4: Why Do I Hate Most Christian Music?

Leave a comment