Out and About: Opportunity Shopping in Western Central Victoria

IMG_3551

I scoured op-shops and antique emporiums on a road trip over the weekend, which took me as far as the beautiful Grampians. There are many bargains to be had in these parts of country Victoria. Do you like my new comfy chair? What about those fringes?

I was on a particular mission to source retro household items for an extremely exciting secret project – to be revealed very soon. I found just a couple of little things in vintage stores but the store owners are really committed to their collecting and have promised to call just as soon as they have sourced some colourful retro canisters. They were also able to enthusiastically advise me on my secret project. Stay tuned.

IMG_3510

This sexy photograph is where I’m up to with my collecting. I stayed at the Halls Gap Eco YHA. It was really well run and had a range of environmentally sustainable features such as passive solar (concrete floors), 35cm thick rammed earth walls, solar hot water, water tanks, recycling stations and even free free-range eggs for guests.

IMG_3548

I swear, tourists cannot be disappointed if they visit the Grampians. The wildlife is prolific and unafraid of crazy, trigger happy people. I stalked these two (and many others) with my Iphone.

IMG_3526 (2)

Leave a Reply

