Introducing Dan

IMG_0861 Whilst technically not a teenager my youngest might just as well be! His voice is like a man’s and he has just overtaken me in height. He is generally easy company but is lazy and slovenly and will quite often leave things exactly where they drop. His specialities in this department are empty food packets, wet towels, shoes, clothes and techno cords. However, I was intensely gratified to see he had put his toothbrush and toothpaste away after using them. I know. Small things. I deliberated over how to reinforce this new behaviour. Attempting to downplay my excitement,  I said to him, “You know what Dan? I noticed you put away your toothbrush and the toothpaste this morning. That was really thoughtful of you.” Without missing a beat he dryly, but encouragingly, responded, “Good parenting, mum.”

Leave a Reply

